District Profile

District at a glance

  • Declared as Independent District w.e.f. 1st October, 1990, as a consequent of the bifurcation of the Greater Mumbai into two revenue districts namely, Mumbai City & Mumbai Suburban. Prior to this, Mumbai Suburban was the part of Mumbai City District.
  • Population wise, one of the largest district in the country. The current population is 93.56 Lakhs.
  • Area wise, it is the second smallest district in Maharashtra State. It's geographical area is 369 Sq Kms.
  • The District Headquarters is located in Bandra(E).
  • Administratively it comes under Konkan Division.
  • Mumbai Suburban District has 3 Talukas/Tahsils namely, Andheri, Borivali and Kurla . It has 87 villages.
  • The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla and upto Trombay Creek.
  • This District has 4 Parliamentary Constituencies and 26 Assembly Constituencies.

Important places:-

  • Mount Marry Church
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
  • Indian Institute of Technology ,Pawai
  • Rashtriya Chemicals and FertilizerS (R.C.F.)
  • Chatrapati Shivaji International Terminal Airport
  • Sahara International Airport
  • Aray Milk Colony
  • INS Hamla
  • Film City


  • Juhu Beach
  • Madh Beach
  • Manori Beach
  • Aksa Beach
  • Gorai Beach
  • Versova Beach
  • Erangal Beach


  • Tulsi Lake
  • Vihar Lake
  • Pawai Lake

Amusement Places:-

  • Essel World
  • Water Kingdom
  • Gorai Fantassy Land
  • Jogeshwari


  • Kanheri Caves
  • Jogeshwari Caves


  1. Mithi River :-
  2. Mithi River is the main river in the Mumbai Suburban District. Mithi River originates in the Vihar Lake area, flows southwards and through the Bandra-Kurla Complex, and finally meets Arabian Sea at Mahim bay. For a large part of its southern course is influenced by tidal action. It has a total aerial length of 13.5 km and catchments area of 7295 hectares that covers parts of eastern and western suburbs. A 3.5 km stretch passes through the Bandra-Kurla Complex which is planned and developed by the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA).
  3. Dahisar River (Mandpeshwar):-
  4. Dahisar river is second main river in mumbai suburban district.It originates from Tulsi Lake (Gundgaon) which is in Sanjay Gandhi National Park , flows through Magathane, Kanheri, Dahisar, Mandpeshwar before meeting the Arabian sea via the Bhayandar creek.
  5. Poisar River :-
  6. Poisar River originates in Sanjay Gandhi National Park (lahugad). flows through Akurli, Poisar, Kandivali, Valanee, Malad and meets to Arabian Sea via Malad creek.
  7. Oshiwara River :-
  8. It originates in Film City(Goregaon).Before meeting the Arabian sea via the Malad Creek,two rivulet join the river, one rivulet comes from Santhosh Nagar and meets the river near Aray Colony bridge another one comes from Oshiwara Station meets the river near Oshiwara bridge.


Geographical Area Geographical Location
Total Area 386.56 sq km North Longitude 72 to 51.01 degree
Area under Forestry 44.43 sq km East Longitude 19 to 3.41 degree

Geographical Area
East Thane Creek from Mulund to Trombay, Vikroli, Ghatkoper
West Arabian sea from Gorai Manori to Andheri & Bandra having beaches of Madh, Juhu
South Mahul, Mahim Creek of Mumbai City District
North National Park and Thane Creek

Sr.No. Taluka Total Area (sq km) Area Under Forestry (sq km) Distance in km from Total No of Revenue Circles Total No of Villages Taluka Boundaries
        District HQ PC HQ     East West South North
1 Andheri 72.17 0 12 1.5 to 3.5 3 25 Boundary of Kurla Tahsil from Tungwa, Saki, Mohili, Kurla Arabian Sea from Bandra to Madh Mahim Creek and Mumbai City District Boundary of Borivali Taluka Villages Erangal, Daravali, Goregaon, Aarey & Kurla Taluka Saki Vihar and Kurla
2 Borivali 179.39 42.97 22 0.5 to 7 3 33 National Park Boundary of Kurla Taluka Arabian sea from Gorai to Madh Village of Madh, Versova, Jogeshwari Last Suburb Dahisar and next to it Thane District
3 Kurla 135.00 1.46 24 1 to 11 2 29 Thane Creek from Mulund to Trombay Boundary Sanjay Gandhi National Park Arabian Sea of Mahul, Sion i.e. Mumbai City Saki Vihar, Gundgaon, Tulsi Village of Borivali & Thane District
  Total 386.56 44.43     8 87        


back to top

(c) हे मुंबई उपनगर जिल्ह्याचे अधिकृत संकेत स्थळ आहे. सर्व अधिकार राखीव. Caution/Disclaimer: The content in this website is the result of a collaborative effort of various district departmental offices, at the District level. The available contents on website provided by various departments of Collector office, Mumbai Suburban District and uploaded by website administrator of Collector office Mumbai Suburban District, the content ownership belong to Collector, Mumbai Suburban District. This website is designed and developed by Collector Office Mumbai Suburban District, Bandra. The Information provided on website is only for information purpose it can not be used for any Legal / Judicial purpose.