About District

  • Declared as Independent District w.e.f. 1st October, 1990, as a onsequent of the bifurcation of the Greater Mumbai into two revenue districts namely, Mumbai City and Mumbai Suburban. Prior to this, Mumbai Suburban was the part of Mumbai City District.
  • Population wise, one of the largest district in the country. The current population is 93.56 Lakhs.
  • Area wise, it is the second smallest district in Maharashtra State. It’s geographical area is 369 Sq Kms.
  • The District Headquarters is located in Bandra (E).
  • Administratively it comes under Konkan Division.
  • Mumbai suburban District is divided into two Sub Divisions ie. SDO Office Western Suburban and SDO Office Eastern Suburban.
  • Mumbai Suburban District has 3 Talukas/Tahsils namely, Andheri, Borivali and Kurla. It has 87 villages.
  • The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla and upto Trombay Creek.
  • This District has 4 Parliamentary Constituencies and 26 Assembly Constituencies.

Important Places :

  • Mount Mary Church.
  • Bhabha Atomic Research Centre.
  • Indian Institute of Technology ,Powai.
  • Rashtriya Chemicals and FertilizerS (R.C.F.).
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport.
  • Aarey Milk Colony.
  • INS Hamla.
  • Film City.

Beaches : 

  • Juhu Beach
  • Madh Beach
  • Manori Beach
  • Aksa Beach
  • Gorai Beach
  • Versova Beach
  • Erangal Beach

Lake : 

  • Tulsi Lake
  • Vihar Lake
  • Pawai Lake

Amusement Places : 

  • Essel World
  • Water Kingdom
  • Jogeshwari

Caves : 

  • Kanheri Caves
  • Jogeshwari Caves

Rivers : 

Mithi River :

Mithi river is the main river in the Mumbai Suburban District. Mithi River originates in the Vihar Lake area, flows southwards and through the Bandra-Kurla Complex, and finally meets Arabian Sea at Mahim bay. For a large part of its southern course is influenced by tidal action. It has a total aerial length of 13.5 km and catchments area of 7295 hectares that covers parts of eastern and western suburbs. A 3.5 km stretch passes through the Bandra-Kurla Complex which is planned and developed by the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA).

Dahisar River (Mandpeshwar) : 

Dahisar river is second main river in mumbai suburban district.It originates from Tulsi Lake (Gundgaon) which is in Sanjay Gandhi National Park , flows through Magathane, Kanheri, Dahisar, Mandpeshwar before meeting the Arabian sea via the Bhayandar creek.

Poisar River : 

Poisar River originates in Sanjay Gandhi National Park (lahugad).flows through Akurli, Poisar, Kandivali, Valanee, Malad and meets to Arabian Sea via Malad creek.

Oshiwara River :

 It originates in Film City (Goregaon). Before meeting the Arabian sea via the Malad Creek,two rivulet join the river, one rivulet comes from Santhosh Nagar and another one comes from Oshiwara and meets the river near Aray Colony bridge .

Geography :

Total Area Area Under Forestery North Longitude East Longitude
386.56 sq km 44.43 sq km 72 to 51.01 degree 19 to 3.41 degree

Geographical Area :

  • East – Thane Creek from Mulund to Trombay, Vikroli, Ghatkoper
  • West – Arabian sea from Gorai Manori to Andheri & Bandra having beaches of Madh, Juhu.
  • South – Mahul, Mahim Creek of Mumbai City District.
  • North – National Park and Thane Creek.